History and Genealogy
America’s Obituaries & Death Notices
A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from major and regional newspapers in the United States.
Ancestry Library Edition (available in Library only)
A comprehensive source for genealogical and local history research that includues the U.S. Federal Censuses from 1790-1930, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, passenger lists, and much more. Click here for a brief introductory video.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Mel)
Citations for over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
Includes biographies from hundreds of magazines, newspapers, and reference sources, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to websites. Search for people – both current and historic – by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, and keyword.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1897-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.
Dictionary of American History
Authoritative American history reference work for students, scholars and general readers.
Generations Online (available in Library only)
This site provides an easy to use step-by-step introduction to navigating the Internet customized for senior citizens. Four skills are taught: e-mail, chat, searching, and links to popular sites. Generations Online includes Memories: Generation to Generation, designed to link school children to elders, trapping their wisdom, experiences, and knowledge in an oral history and cultural exchange.
Heritage Quest Online (Mel)
Searchable images of U.S. federal census records and popular genealogy and local history collection books and collections. Click here for a brief introductory video.
Issues & Controversies in American History
Features opinions and analysis regarding controversial events throughout American history. It includes presidential election coverage, timelines, photographs, charts, maps, and more.
Macomb County Death Records Database
Lists dates of death for Macomb County residents after 1960.
The Making of Modern Michigan
Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories and genealogical materials.
Michigan County Histories and Atlases
This collection contains 428 digitized reproductions of Michigan county histories and atlases published before 1923, as a resource for historical and genealogical research.
Michigana (Sabin Collection): Sources in U.S. History Online (Mel)
This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books.
SLC Digital Media Archives
Historical and genealogical materials in digital form. View old pictures, maps, and documents from Macomb County, Troy, and Harper Woods.